Italy by Italy - Vera Ospitalità Italiana
Select Region
Seleziona la tipologia
Main Menu



Book holidays online Sardegna

Regione Sardegna Crotone Catanzaro Reggio Calabria Vibo Valentia Cosenza Caserta Benevento Avellino Salerno Napoli Matera Potenza Piacenza Parma Modena Ferrara Ravenna Bologna Reggio Emilia Forlì Cesena Rimini Udine Gorizia Trieste Pordenone Viterbo Rieti Frosinone Latina Roma Genova Savona La Spezia Imperia Sondrio Lecco Bergamo Brescia Mantova Cremona Lodi Pavia Milano Varese Como Pesaro Ancona Urbino Macerata Ascoli Piceno Isernia Campobasso Biella Torino Verbania Novara Vercelli Alessandria Asti Cuneo Foggia Bari Brindisi Lecce Taranto Olbia Tempio Nuoro Ogliastra Cagliari Carbonia - Iglesias Oristano Sassari Medio Campidano Caltanissetta Palermo Trapani Messina Catania Ragusa Siracusa Enna Agrigento Pistoia Prato Firenze Massa Lucca Pisa Livorno Arezzo Siena Grosseto Bolzano Trento Perugia Terni Aosta Belluno Treviso Venezia Padova Rovigo Verona Vicenza Teramo Pescara Chieti L
Italybyitaly Olbia-Tempio
Italybyitaly Carbonia-Iglesias
Italybyitaly Sassari
Italybyitaly Cagliari
Italybyitaly Medio Campidano
Italybyitaly Nuoro
Italybyitaly Oristano
Italybyitaly Ogliastra

‹‹ Back

You are in Sardegna

Useful Information

Sardegna is one of the two insular regions of Italy and the third biggest one, touched to the east by the Mar di Sardegna and on all the other sides by the Mar Tirreno. The territory is mostly made of hills and in a small part mountainous.

Sardegna is an island characterised by a double nature. The interior is made of wild and rough mountains, while the coast has a crystalline sea, isolated bays, and long sandy beaches with fascianting grottos.
Occupied by the Phoenicians from the IX century B.C, the ilsand passed under the dominion of Carthago in the 500 B.C. After the first punic war, in 238 B.C, the island was given to the Romans, and during the emperor the region became rich and prosperous. In 456 it was conquered by the Vandals, who occupied it until 534 when the Byzantines arrived, making it one of the seven provinces of the African prefecture.

The Saracens often raided the territory, and to counter this danger local governments were founded, controlled by the "giudici". These political formations were independent until the XI century, and in the XII century they fell under Pisa who entered the island.
Pisa confirmed the division of the region in four parts: Cagliari, Torres, Gallura and Arborea.

The Aragonese settlement began in 1295 with the investiture of Giacomo II d'Aragona by Pope Bonifacio VIII. In the main centres, there was a repeated opposition to the Spanish feuds. The island then passed to Austria in 1713, and in 1720 it was given to Vittorio Amedeo II di Savoia, thus letting the Kingdom of Sardinia begin.

Sardegna is a region with a thousand faces. The landscape is unique, and some zones might remind of the Alps, Spain or Sicily.
In the grassy lands, with its palm trees and olives, many ponds can be found with a population of flamingos, like in the zone of Oristano. Enclosed in the enormous rock blocks, there are the long and famous white beaches of the Costa Smeralda, where the centres of Porto Rotondo, Porto Cervo, Baia Sardinia and Cannigione are located.
More to the north are the islands of La Maddalena and Caprera, which hold the house of Garibaldi and the Museo Garibaldino. In Sassari, on the other hand, is located the
“Museo Archeologico Nazionale G.A. Sanna”.

In Cagliari, it is possible to visit the Cathedral which holds artworks from Guglielmo da Pisa, created in 1162.
To the south, we can find the small volcanic island of Sant'Antioco, where the Basilica of Sant'Antioco can be found.
Some specialties of the region are the pane carasau, the gnocchetti sardi, or various types of cheese. Worth of mention is the typical dessert called "seadas".

Book Holidays online in Sardegna

Regions Directory

Copyright © 2006 | - True Italian Hospitality - Turinvest Srl - P. Iva nr. 01368641007 - C. F. 05179980585
| Sitemap |